Home Conferences & Master classes Antitrust & Big Tech

Antitrust & Big Tech

Join Professor Patricia Pérez from IE School of Law in this Virtual Master Class

AIMED AT Master Degrees
EVENT TYPE Conferences & Master classes
EVENT FORMAT Global events
DATE 6th May 2021
TIME 13:00 - 14:00 (GMT -05:00)
LANGUAGE English
Antitrust & Big Tech

From a competition law perspective, big tech companies are under more scrutiny than ever.

Last December, the US Federal Trade Commission sued Facebook. This complaint followed the lawsuit filed against Google in October 2020 by the Antitrust Division of the Department of Justice. Consequently, both American federal competition authorities are currently involved in legal battles with two of the so-called big tech firms.

In the EU we have also been witnessing similar developments lately. After three fines imposed on Google (over 8 billion euros in total), the European Commission has been working on a Proposal for a Digital Markets Act, which includes platforms considered as gatekeepers. Moreover, Amazon is currently under scrutiny at the EU Commission level as well, and Germany approved last month amendments to their Competition Act, with the aim of targeting some gatekeepers in digital markets.

In this master class, we will look into these current developments, as well as into the challenges for those big tech companies from a competition law perspective. Join Professor Patricia Pérez Fernández to learn “Antitrust and Big Tech”.

 

Agenda:

  • 13:00 hrs Ecuador / Colombia / México / Perú
  • 14:00 hrs Chile / Venezuela
  • 15:00 hrs Brazil / Argentina